SA Award 2016

SwachhAbility Unknown Warriors Awards-2016


JK Cement SwachhAbility run started with a motive to spread the message of Swachhta and Inclusion of divyangs as equals in the society. With an aim to motivate the people to bring the thought into practice, SwachhAbility recognized and honored the unknown warriors, who had, in one way or the other, made efforts and achieved success by fighting their disabilities and given back to the society. To acknowledge the hard work and selfless service of these hidden heroes, JK Cement SwachhAbility Run came up with SwachhAbility Unknown Warriors Awards in 2016.

The SwachhAbility Awards 2016 will always remain etched in the minds of all those who attended this prestigious ceremony. It was a beautiful morning. The Ayurvigyan Auditorium of Army Referral & Research Hospital, New Delhi, was bustling with so much excitement, where we welcome our esteemed Chief Guests of the day – Shri G Mohan Kumar, the Defence Secretary Govt. of India, Lt Gen Rakesh Sharma, UYSM, AVSM, VSM, Adjutant General Indian Army, Lt Gen S D Duhan VSM, Commandant Army Hospital, New Delhi & Mr. Raghavpat Singhania, Special Executive, JK Cement Ltd.

Major DP Singh welcomed all the honorable dignitaries and shared with them the story behind the SwachhAbility mission. The soul-stirring audio-visual about the members of The Challenging Ones touched the hearts of everyone present in the auditorium and filled their eyes with tears. After this, everyone was made acquainted with the journey of SwachhAbility Run 2016 through another touching audio-visual.

We had 4 unknown warriors amongst us, who, by combatting their disabilities, have done so much for the upliftment of the society, namely – Abha Khetarpal, Dr. Satendra Singh, Madhavi Latha, and Harish Kumar. The Polio Survivor, Abha Khetarpal, who is the President of Cross the Hurdles, has been counseling the persons with disabilities and is herself a disability rights activist.

Dr. Satendra Singh, also a Polio Survivor, is a doctor at the University College of Medical Sciences and Guru Tegh Bahadur Hospital, Delhi. He contracted poliomyelitis when he was just 9 months old but that never stopped him from what he wanted to achieve. He won the prestigious Henry Viscardi Achievement Award, given to extraordinary leaders in the global disability community. He is a renowned disability activist, known for his consistent efforts in making public areas accessible for all.

Madhavi Latha’s story inspires all of us to never give up on our dreams. 80% of her body was left paralyzed after a massive polio attack at a mere age of 7 months, but today she is the founder of Yes We Too Can Movement. The movement aims at motivating and helping the differently-abled to get training in sports.

Harish Kumar was born without a limb below the elbow joint on his right arm, but he went on crossing all the hurdles and followed his dreams. He is the owner of the very first driving school for specially challenged people in India: ‘Ability on Wheels’, aimed at making the differently abled independent and self-sufficient.

These people created an impression on one and all present and left everyone motivated to face all the obstacles of life bravely. Mr. Raghavpat Singhania, Special Executive JK Cement Ltd expressed his gratitude to all the sponsors and partners who were a part of this mission in one way or the other and supported it wholeheartedly.

Culminating the event with the National Anthem, The Award Ceremony concluded with an intention to take this mission to the entire nation and come back soon with an even bigger 2nd edition.